During the login process, network drives are added using a network script.  In some cases, due to network speed, computer speed, or just a glitch at the wrong moment, a network drive may not be connected.  This is especially common in the case of the personal drive - Z: or department drive - O:.

Contact Computer Services

On the new network, there is a setting that can be changed that should fix this issue for most people.  Please contact computer Services and we will "connect" your Z: drive in your Active Directory Profile.


In the meantime, you can also try a couple of things to get immediate access:

Log off and Log back in

Sometimes, the issue is simply that the drive was not mapped because the computer was not able to process the script in time. This can occur if the computer is still configuring itself when the log in process began.  So, logging off the computer (not shut-down and rebooting) will keep the resources available so when you login again, the computer can immediately run the script and the resources are already available.

The best way to avoid this is to wait 15 seconds after booting your computer, once you get to the log-on prompt, before logging in.  Also if the computer was asleep, then wait 15 seconds after the computer is woken up, before logging in. This ensures the computer has loaded all it's resources required to access network locations, before the script runs and requires those resources.

Map the drive manually

You can map the network drive manually by following this simple procedure. 

  • Right-Click on the Start button and select File Manager
  • Right-Click on This PC and select Map Network drive...
  • Select the appropriate drive letter
  • in the Folder field, type the folder location as identified below
  • Click the Finish button

The drive locations for your missing drives are as follows:

  • Z: drive should be mapped to \\abersan-2\home.dirs\[username]
  • O: drive should be mapped to \\abersan-2\communities


The "Reconnect at logon" determines whether the drive should connect the next time you log in. Keep that selected if you do not want to go through this process again tomorrow.